ONE SHOT ILLUSTRATION – MICHAEL MOORCOCK’s ELRIC of MELNIBONE

“IT IS THE colour of a bleached skull, his flesh; and the long hair which flows below his shoulders is milk-white. From the tapering, beautiful head stare two slanting eyes, crimson and moody, and from the loose sleeves of his yellow gown emerge two slender hands, also the colour of bone, resting on each arm of a seat which has been carved from a single, massive ruby.”
― Michael Moorcock, Elric of Melnibone

I loved the Elric and Stormbringer books by Moorcock as a teenager, when I first wondered, “How would you pull off that Ruby Throne?” It was my first “adult” reading in some ways. Moorcock, Henlein, and Harlen Ellison, true visionaries that grew up in the age of Acid, getting stoned, and dropping out. I started this just for fun a couple of weeks ago. Sadly, I have no vitality drugs or Demon Sword to restore me to strength yet, but soon. I left a few easter eggs for Elric fans. The helmet is my tribute to P. Craig Russell’s adaption for comics. He made design choices I never would (I thought as a teenager), but you had to admire the consistency of P. Craig Russell’s vision of Elric. Ruby Throne and Stormbringer is all me, after just 35 years of careful thought and study. It takes me a while but I always get there.

But is it a little too manga-esque, on the Heavy Metal Side? X-Japan – Live Forever.

ELRIC_72dpi_FNL

Leave a Reply

