BEST in 2014 – MISS FURY LIBERATED, 1938 – Working with Tarpe Mills (most popular feature)

MissFuryHeader01FNL

I think this is my best work so far (until recently), and many people agreed. Traffic has been great on Miss Fury for a long time. After over six months, I still get Miss Fury fans and people new to her work rumaging through my pages. This was also a response to the lousy way they butched Tarpe Mills’ creation over at Dynamite. I heard an interview with the young writer of that had he stunk of “fake it until you make it” in the entire interview.

I like my version because its filled with love and respect for what Tarpe Mills achieved.

We need – More Women In Action Comics, and we need it right now.

I have always been fascinated by Black Fury/Miss Fury, a golden age female action hero created by a woman – the first woman to write and draw her own strip. She did Miss Fury for about 10 years for the Sunday Funnies – those wonderfully big pages where you get just one big page a week of story. On the Copyright Office application for my work, I credited the public domain work of Tarpe Mills for design and story (plot points). I tried to always keep a half Tarpe, half me feel to it. I encourage eveyone to pick up Miss Fury Sensational Sundays (by Tarpe Mills), 1941-1944, edited by Trina Robbins. My story, however, is an odd, almost European sad lyrical take on the tough realities of domestic abuse. I like this one a lot. This is where my pages really stepped up a few notches. The pictures worked so well I dropped gratuitous dialog, making much of it silent.

These are the three pages I put out, all one story – these are 11×17 jpegs, so clicking to enlarge is highly encouraged to get the full “Imax” effect.

MissFury_FNL_page1MissFury_page2_FNL

Page three and last chapter of part one.
Page three and last chapter of part one.

 

Leave a Reply

