Miss Fury Page 3: The Silent Page

I wonder sometimes if people were surprised by Miss Fury Page 3. I wrote the dialog, and it was all ready to go but… we heard it before. “You beat up my man how could you, You have no idea how much me means to me, I can change him, blah blah blah blah.” You heard it before.

I thought the whole page was more eloquent just silent, especially since the pictures so effectively tell a weird story that is strangely easy to follow. About half the panels were drawn freehand from the Tarpe Mills original with variations, and half are original panels by me. Fifty fifty – I love Tarpe Mills, so all must be 50-50.  I liked doing these a lot, but they can be time consuming to draw and “color.” (I used six gray markers of different shades).

Click to enlarge. Total size is 1000 pixels wide, or 11×17″.

Page three and last chapter of part one.
Page three and last chapter of part one.

I encourge people to pick up a collection of Tarpe Mills work –  Miss Fury by Tarpe Mills: Sensational Sunday’s (1941-44) edit by Trina Robbins. Tarpe Mills’ color work in the book is really gorgeous – done with just four color separations for the printer – amazing work. The second half explodes in rich red tones everywhere. Well worth the cover price!

miss_fury2_pr

Leave a Reply

