NEW WEEKLY WEBCOMIC – Adaption of MISS FURY by Tarpe Mills

UPDATE – I completed my version last year (Summer, 2014). You can find it here.

NEW WEEKLY WEBCOMIC – MISS FURY by Tarpe Mills – Cover Version

I am adapting Miss Fury (original by Tarpe Mills) as a weekly adventure webcomic, with a woman at the center of everything, and a fun, sexy, adventure aesthetic true to the Tarpe Mills original. This is a great opportunity for me to do my take on  the comic art from this time period that has fascinated me all my life.  Tarpe Mills is now in the public domain, and recent attempts to bring her back keep forgetting the key ingredient – Tarpe Mills.

I am almost positive this cover was drawn by Jack Kirby, in the the style of Tarpe Mills. My first teacher, my new teacher. I get a little dizzy looking at this cover, trying to puzzle out the very different styles in one picture.
I am almost positive this cover was drawn by Jack Kirby, in the the style of Tarpe Mills. My first teacher, my new teacher. I get a little dizzy looking at this cover, trying to puzzle out the very different styles in one picture. Blending very harmoniously. Jack did right by Tarpe.

I am almost finished with the first page of my version. The pencils for the first installment (one page, 12 panels) are almost finished, just needing ink and a scan. This part of my attempt to update with regular content on a more regular basis, and do more webcomics with a compressed style of storytelling. It started as me using Tarpe Mills to learn how to draw women, then I fell in love with her work.

MissFuryKissClinch

Marla Drake, as Black Fury at a troubled time, about to be rescued by Cappy. 1941, just before the name change to Miss Fury. I really think when a woman draws a woman, it shows. And I think that's the kind of women men (and women) really like - hubba hubba. Miss Fury was a hit with the troups of WWII, who put her on the sides of airplanes.
Marla Drake, as Black Fury at a troubled time, about to be rescued by Cappy. 1941, just before the name change to Miss Fury. I really think when a woman draws a woman, it shows. And I think that’s the kind of women men (and women) really like – hubba hubba. Miss Fury was a hit with the troups of WWII, who put her on the sides of airplanes.

I am doing my faithful adaption on the old format – basic 12 panel grid, this time good for webcomics (one page). It should look something like this, with MUCH LESS wordy dialogue. Miss Mills was typical for most comic writers of the time, including the era’s king – Milton Caniff- still too wordy. She has such storytelling verve, pacing and sequence, its been a pleasure to cut away some branches so the reader can better see the garden.

Miss Fury by Tarpe Mills - Girl fights!! Shows standard format for the strip - four rows of three, cliffhanger at the end.
Miss Fury by Tarpe Mills – Girl fights!! Shows standard format for the strip – four rows of three, cliffhanger at the end.

Tarpe Mills was the first woman to do an adventure comic, and the first woman to feature the first female costumed hero.  Mills’ strip was published in Sunday Comics for large newpaper syndicates, one page a week, the same as many webcomics. Tarpe Mills based her lead heroine on herself, and I love reading Miss Fury because you can feel a woman’s sensibility running through the whole creation, and Tarpe Mills had great taste.

and she gives and she gives… look at that jacket on the lower left. I love this period's style.
and she gives and she gives… look at that jacket on the lower left. I love this period’s style.
Wow. Miss MIlls was a giver.
Wow. Miss MIlls was a giver.

Set in 1939, there will be period outfits and situations, Art Deco inspired design,  fights, girl fights, girls in underwear, evil women, Nazis, and girls in underwear fighting – anything that Mills could get away with in 1941 and more. I have long been a fan of this period in comic art. Pages will be 12 panels – three across and four down. I have updated the story (a little) and dialogue (a lot) to be fresh and fly in 2014.

First appearance of Miss Fury in Sunday Comics, reprinted as a comic book (1941). Pages from Sunday Comics (12 panels, color) were reprinted as six panel pages in comic books by Timely, with and without color. I'm doing 12 panel in black and white. Best of both worlds? I love the look of these.
First appearance of Miss Fury in Sunday Comics, reprinted as a comic book (1941). Pages from Sunday Comics (12 panels, color) were reprinted as six panel pages in comic books by Timely, with and without color. I’m doing 12 panel in black and white. Best of both worlds? I love the look of these.

Tarpe Mills has given me great help with that. This project will be in reply to the horrid Dynamite adaption of Miss Fury, that demonstrates why some boys who make comics drive girls away. Bleh. My version will be more One Woman’s Adventure, like the original.

Marla Drake, aka Tarpe Mills. She put a lot of herself into the work, and it shows.
Marla Drake, aka Tarpe Mills. She put a lot of herself into the work, and it shows.

miss-fury-gun

My version coming up in a few days (as of june 10, 2014).

Leave a Reply

