OBERON DESTROYERS, Meeting of Evil Doers (Cover)

UPDATE 2/3’s of the pages are drawn in pencil, and need ink and color.
UPDATE – Inks and colors are mostly done, pages w/bonus pinups of EVIL DOERS ready to be scanned in a few days. This week I do final finishing and word balloons on the computer.

WARNING – May contain foul language
WARNING – May contain bloody violence
WARNING – May contain dark and inappropriate humor

GENESIS (behind the scenes/bonus track)
I had the idea for this 15 years ago when I lived in Tokyo. I had a blazing vision of 12 villains meeting in secret, dressed like a good pulp magazine circa 1933. I was reading a lot of the original Maxwell Grant Shadow stories published in the 30s, and reading a ton of interwar history (1919-1939), including true crime and gangster history. This was my first foray into actually constructing a story with scenes and beats, and I had no idea what I was doing. That failed attempt sent me on a course to self educate on script writing, story beats, character arcs, natural dialog, and then the humor just came naturally.

I worked hard on improving my drawing from a craft perspective. The real personal breakthrough on my writing was a script I wrote for something totally different in 2011. For over a decade I made dolls, and still have them. I ran my own website/online porfolio. And each year I thought about what made my evil doer meeting scene not work, and wrote more backstory on the individual evil doers, which is kind of the point. Then I found what was wrong, and where they could fit very well – Oberon Destroyers, my brand new project I started in 2012.

I am very proud of this issue –  its my writing, design, and figure work all pulling at the same harness and telling an entertaining story. 15 years later. Bwhahahahahah!!!
It’s like my Saturn Returns as an artist, but as usual, I am running a little late.

MTGofEVILDOERScoverFNL

 

FInd the finished issue HERE

Leave a Reply

